How to deactivate account on Threads from Meta

Yes, it's possible to deactivate your Threads account without affecting your Instagram account, and here's how.

Meta Threads app install

On Threads, you can deactivate your account without affecting your Instagram account, and in this guide, you will learn how. Threads, the microblogging social network by Meta and built by the Instagram team, is perhaps the best alternative to Twitter, but if you signed up and realized that it’s not for you or want to take a break from it, then you can deactivate the account.

When you deactivate Threads, your posts and interactions will no longer be available for other users until to reactivate the account. However, deactivating doesn’t delete the account, and it doesn’t affect your Instagram profile. It’s important to make this distinction because the social network still doesn’t have the option to delete the Threads account without deleting the Instagram account.

This guide will teach you the steps to deactivate your Threads account.

Deactivate Threads account

To temporarily deactivate your Threads account, use these steps:

  1. Open Threads app.

  2. Click the Profile button in the bottom-right corner.

  3. Click the menu (two lines) button in the top-right corner.

  4. Click on Account.

  5. Click the “Deactivate profile” setting.

    Threads deactivate account

  6. Click the “Deactivate Threads profile” button.

Once you complete the steps, your Threads account will no longer be active, meaning that your profile, interactions, and followers will be temporarily disabled and hidden from other users until you reactive the account manually. However, the account won’t be deleted, nor it’ll affect your Instagram account.

You can deactivate and reactivate your Threads accounts as many times as you need. The only caveat is that you can only deactivate once per week. 

If you want to delete the account at the time of this writing, deactivating is your best option, at least, until Meta rolls out an update and adds the option to delete the account without deleting Instagram, which is something the company is working on.